Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript to view images and advanced functionality
Social MediaSummary
Did You Mean: Lands administrative divisions of AustraliaLands administrative divisions of Western AustraliaLands administrative divisions of Tasmania

Add research to Administrative Divisions Of Australia by attaching materials such as relevant webpages, videos, images or pdf documents here


Administrative Divisions Of Australia on Social Media

Administrative Divisions Of Australia Summary

First-level subdivision of Australia

States and territories of Australia also known as States and territories of Australia  

The states and territories are the first-level administrative divisions of the Commonwealth of Australia. They are the second level of government in Australia, located between the federal and local government tiers. The country comprises six states: New South Wales, Victoria, Queensland, Western Australia, South Australia and Tasmania. They retain a degree of sovereignty, being the successors of the previous Australian colonies. The states each have their own parliaments, able to legislate over certain residual and concurrent power areas. Two of the three internal territories, the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), function in reality as states themselves. The ACT and Northern Territory each possess their own level of self-government through their respective legislative assemblies, but instead derive their power from the Commonwealth, theoretically revocable at any time. The third internal territory, the Jervis Bay Territory, is a territory in its own right and is the product of Australia's complex relationship with its capital city. Rather than having the same level of autonomy as the states and the two other internal territories, Jervis Bay instead has services provided by arrangement from New South Wales and the ACT. Australia also consists of seven external territories. These do not comprise Australia proper, but are nevertheless under Australian sovereignty. Only three of the external territories have a permanent population, and as a result, they are all directly administered by the federal Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities (or the Department of the Environment and Energy in the case of the Australian Antarctic Territory). Norfolk Island was partially self-governing, until this was revoked in 2015.

1969 Australian federal election1972 Australian federal election1974 Australian federal election1975 Australian federal election1977 Australian federal election1980 Australian federal election1983 Australian federal election1984 Australian federal election1987 Australian federal election1990 Australian federal election
Website Menu