Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript to view images and advanced functionality
Social MediaSummary
Did You Mean: 2007 Cricket World Cup squads2007 Cricket World Cup Final2007 Cricket World Cup statistics

Add research to 2007 Cricket World Cup by attaching materials such as relevant webpages, videos, images or pdf documents here


2007 Cricket World Cup on Social Media

2007 Cricket World Cup Summary

Cricket World Cup

2007 Cricket World Cup also known as 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup   Ninth ICC Cricket World Cup   ICC Cricket World Cup  

The 2007 Cricket World Cup (officially known as ICC Cricket World Cup 2007) was the 9th edition of the Cricket World Cup tournament that took place in the West Indies from 13 March to 28 April 2007, using the sport's One Day International (ODI) format. There were a total of 51 matches played, three fewer than at the 2003 World Cup (despite a field larger by two teams). The 16 competing teams were initially divided into four groups, with the two best-performing teams from each group moving on to a "Super 8" format. From this, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, and South Africa won through to the semi-finals, with Australia defeating Sri Lanka in the final to win their third consecutive World Cup and their fourth overall. Australia's unbeaten record in the tournament increased their total to 29 consecutive World Cup matches without loss, a streak dating back to 23 May 1999, during the group stage of the 1999 World Cup. The tournament also saw upsets in the first round with tournament favourites India and Pakistan failing to advance past the group stage. The following day police announced that the death of Bob Woolmer was suspicious and ordered a full investigation.Following the tournament the ICC distributed surplus tournament revenues of US$239 million to its members.

Website Menu