Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript to view images and advanced functionality
Social MediaSummary
Did You Mean: 1984 Indianapolis 5001984 in motorsport1984 Talladega 500

Add research to 1984 Daytona 500 by attaching materials such as relevant webpages, videos, images or pdf documents here


1984 Daytona 500 on Social Media

1984 Daytona 500 Summary

1984 Daytona 500

The 1984 Daytona 500, the 26th running of the event, was held February 19, 1984, at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida. Cale Yarborough, who won the pole, completed a lap of 201.848 miles per hour (324.843 km/h), officially breaking the 200 miles per hour (320 km/h) barrier at Daytona. He won the race for the second year in a row, and the fourth time in his career, with an identical last-lap pass as the previous year, this time victimizing Darrell Waltrip who would later go on to win the same race in 1989. First Daytona 500 starts for Ken Ragan, Greg Sacks, Mike Alexander, Connie Saylor, Doug Heveron, Bobby Hillin, Jr., and Trevor Boys. Only Daytona 500 start for Dean Combs. Last Daytona 500 starts for Dean Roper, Ronnie Thomas, and Tommy Gale.

Website Menu