Javascript is disabled. Please enable javascript to view images and advanced functionality
Social MediaSummary
Did You Mean: 1956 DDR-Oberliga

Add research to 1956 FDGB Pokal by attaching materials such as relevant webpages, videos, images or pdf documents here


1956 FDGB Pokal on Social Media

1956 FDGB Pokal Summary

1956 FDGB-Pokal

The 1956 FDGB-Pokal started with 148 teams. It was the sixth time that the East German national cup in association football was contested. Due to the switch to a calendar year season the final took place at the end of the year. Two qualifying rounds were played before the first round. All rounds were played as knock-out matches with extra time following a draw after 90 minutes. If extra time yielded no winner, the teams faced each other again in a replay. 120 quarter-finalist of the DDR-Bezirkspokal competitions were joined by 21 members of the third-tier 2nd DDR-Liga that had been created in 1955. After the second qualifying round, the remaining 36 teams were joined by the 28 teams from the top-tier DDR-Oberliga and the second-tier DDR-Liga. By the third round proper none of the Bezirkspokal or 2nd DDR-Liga sides remained. In addition Oberliga sides Rotation Babelsberg, Motor Karl-Marx-Stadt, SC Rotation Leipzig and Motor Zwickau had been eliminated. Three DDR-Liga teams entered the quarter-finals – Chemie Wolfen, Chemie Halle-Leuna and BSG Chemie Zeitz – but only Halle went through to the semi-finals after a 4–3 extra time win over Aktivist Brieske-Senftenberg. In the semi-final the underdogs from Halle held Oberliga side Turbine Erfurt to a 1-all draw after extra time – and won the replay 5-0 to reach the final in Magdeburg. Their opponents were ZASK Vorwärts Berlin who had eliminated holders and Oberliga champions Wismut Karl-Marx-Stadt.

Website Menu